2018 BHS Graduation

Dear Belmont High School Community,

 I would like to take this time to invite you to participate in our graduation ceremony for the Class of 2018.  Graduation will take place on Sunday, June 3rd at 3:00PM in the field house.   Seniors are asked to arrive at 2:00PM and report to the upper gym.  Seating for families and guests will be available both on the court floor as well as in the bleachers. Tickets are not needed. Please keep in mind parking is limited and doors open two hours before graduation.

BHS Marauder of the Week


Junior Dylan McLaughlin is this week’s nominee for Marauder of the Week! His favorite subjects are chemistry and biology, and having just finished AP Biology, he is looking forward to taking AP Chemistry senior year. When asked about which of his teachers have been most influential for him over the course of his high school career, Dylan mentioned Ms. DeFarias and Ms. Bosch, both of whom he says “show care for you as a person, as well as an academic student”. Next year he will be a teaching assistant for Honors Biology classes, something that he hopes will help him figure out whether he likes chemistry or biology more, and which one he’d like to study in college. Outside of school, Dylan does ceramics and is on the set crew for the PAC. Someone who is proud of his academic achievements, his advice for incoming juniors is “you will be alright as long as you get it done and put in effort for it”, and he made a point of talking about also taking time to relax and enjoy being in high school. Congratulations on your nomination, Dylan!

  • Elisabeth Pitts, Class of 2020


Philip Scali:

This week’s nominee for Marauder of the Week is junior Philip Scali. A student with diverse interests and many talents, Philip is one of the captains of the varsity golf team, a sport he has played every year of his high school career. In addition to golfing, he also plays on the varsity lacrosse team and hopes to make it back onto varsity for the second time during his senior year. His favorite class is You and the Law, taught by Mr. Berkman. When asked to explain, he said, “I felt that it applied to my life and it taught me some good skills that I could use throughout the rest of my life”. One of his favorite teachers is Dr. Shea, who teaches Global Leadership. Philip describes him as “very engaging, extremely personable, and someone who makes the class fun while teaching relevant things about the world”. In Global Leadership, Philip was able to examine wide-reaching issues like water crises and education in the Middle East, topics that he found to be extremely interesting. When asked if he had any advice for incoming juniors, he simply said, “Work hard”, and it’s unsurprising, as Philip himself is an embodiment of that sentiment. Congratulations on being nominated!

  • Elisabeth Pitts, Class of 2020

MCAS Testing Schedule

Wednesday, May 23rd

MCAS – Math Session 1 (10th Grade)

Delayed Opening – 9th and 11th Grade

Senior Exam Green
A3/B3 (Yellow) 10:35 AM 10:50 AM
C3/D3/E3 (Lt. Blue) 10:53 AM 11:13 AM
F3/G3/H3 (Green – ELA/SS/Math) 11:16 AM 11:57 AM
F3/G3/H3 (Green – Sci/FL/PA/PE/LC) 12:00 PM 12:31 PM
I3/J3/K3 (Orange- ELA/SS/Math) 12:34 PM 12:50 PM
I3/J3/K3 (Orange- Sci/FL/PA/PE/LC) 12:53 PM 1:10 PM
L3/M3 (Dark Blue) 1:13 PM 1:25 PM


Thursday, May 24th

MCAS – Math Session 2 (10th Grade)

Delayed Opening – 9th, 11th Grade

Senior Exam Orange
A4/B4 (Yellow) 10:35 AM 10:55 AM
C4/D4/E4 (Pink) 10:58 AM 11:18 AM
F4/G4/H4 (Green – ELA/SS/Math) 11:21 AM 11:41 AM
F4/G4/H4 (Green – Sci/FL/PA/PE/LC) 11:44 AM 12:04 PM
I4/J4/K4/L4 (Orange-ELA/SS/Math) 12:07 PM 12:44 PM
I4/J4/K4/L4 (Orange-Sci/FL/PA/PE/LC) 12:47 PM 1:22 PM
M4/N4/O4 (Purple) 1:25 PM 2:25 PM


Blacker Awards Presented at BHS, May 16th, 2016



The Belmont High School English Department will present the annual Lillian F. Blacker Prizes for Excellence in Writing on Wednesday evening, May 16th, at 6:30 p.m. in the Peter Holland Library at Belmont High School.  This year, we will honor seniors James Kitch, Mirilla Zhu, and Nanako Tokuo for their outstanding writing.  Belmont residents are cordially invited to attend.

Family and friends established the Blacker Prizes over twenty years ago in memory of Lillian F. Blacker, a longtime Belmont resident who was very active in community affairs and was director of the Harvard Medical News Office.  She is remembered by the school and the community as a true lover of literature and language.

The Blacker Prizes are presented each year to three BHS seniors for outstanding writing ability on their senior theses.  Each senior reads, researches, and writes a lengthy thesis paper investigating a literary topic.  English faculty members determine the winners after an extensive reading process.

At the awards ceremony, the three Blacker Prize winners will read from their papers and discuss the evolution of their ideas.  A panel of seniors will discuss their topics and the senior thesis process.  Teachers, parents, administrators, and friends are invited.  Underclassmen are encouraged to attend the ceremony to learn more about the senior thesis process.  Refreshments will be served.



2018 BHS Promenade

The Belmont High School

Promenade Tradition

May 18th, 2018

The Belmont High School Classes of 2018 and 2019 would like to invite the entire Belmont community, including parents, students, and senior citizens, to join us at Belmont High School on Friday, May 18th at 4:45 PM for a spring tradition: “Promenade 2018.”  This pre-prom reception will begin in the BHS Auditorium where students attending the prom will be on stage to show off their tuxedoes and prom dresses.  Please join us for picture taking (be sure to bring your camera) and socializing with old and new friends.  The activities at BHS will conclude with a send-off for our students as they leave to attend the 2018 Junior-Senior Prom.  All are welcome!  We hope you can join us!